Do You Hear What I Hear?

Lately, I’ve been hearing the sound of music. Not just flowing into my ears but out into the world. It’s rare that I turn on my stereo and belt out some tunes but it’s been occuring on a daily basis, and I’ve noticed that my roommate has picked up the habit as well. Sometimes we leave our apartment windows open and give our neighbors and unsespecting passer-bys an impromptu performance. Thankfuly, no one has told us to shut up yet.

Just walking to and from class today, I’ve heard two people on their guitars and a really nice band serenading the heavy traffic in Memorial Square. It’s really nice to walk anywhere and hear music played in public, versuses shutting out the world with headphones. Granted, everybody has those days when we just want to tune-out, but I think more people would enjoy tuning in to the world around them if there was more “pleasant noise” in public spaces.

Got Somethin' To Say?

