Big Moves, Big Changes, Big Dreams

alexander-skarsgard-bullett-summer-2012

Not getting accepted into the Graphic Design program sucked, and after I found out, it was difficult decide whether or not I should re-apply or just change my major. Once I decided that repeating a whole year’s worth of the same work was not worth it, I switched to Design Studies, thinking it would help me to figure out what exactly I wanted to do career-wise. I knew I liked Graphic Design more than anything else but I didn’t know what to do with it. It wasn’t until I went to Flagstaff this past summer that I figured out what path I wanted to take. I was in Barnes & Nobles flipping through magazines when I saw Alexander Skarsgard’s face plastered on the cover of one called BULLETT. I picked it up because, well, Alexander Skarsgard is gorgeous, and I had recognized the picture from the same photo shoot I had seen online. So I skimmed through it and was instantly intrigued by the avant-garde style and funky layouts. I spent the $14 and left the store with my nose deep in the pages. By the time I got home I had an epiphany and made a vow to my self that I would buy every single issue, because I realized this is what I wanted to do. I wanted to work with magazines and editorial design. Not only that, but I promised myself that one day I would work for BULLETT magazine. And I’m still banking on it. To get an internship with them would be a dream. I’d be in heaven, cloud 9, nirvana, you name it.

Another thing that I’ve recently regained a passion in is the prospect of owning a t-shirt company. Last year in a class I took called Design and Entrepreneurship, me and a group of others coalesced around the idea of a shirt company that revolved around promoting local artists called Visual Allies for our class project. We felt so good about our idea that we even thought about picking it up and taking it out of the classroom to submit it for the annual Edson Student Entrepreneur Initiative, which provides startups with funding, mentoring, and office space to cultivate your new business. Unfortunately that never happened. I’ve been thinking about it lately and the spark just keeps growing. I have an undeniable urge to get back in contact with my group and talk about this becoming a possible reality and applying for the Edson program again in the future.

Got Somethin' To Say?

